Schloss MerodeKreuzherrenstraße 152379 LangerwehePhone: 00492423 4639Fax: 00492423 3995
The devastating air raid carried out by the British Air Force on 16 November 1944 almost completely destroyed the Gothic St. Anne’s Church , including its steeple that measured in at just under 100 metres tall.
The main building of Burgau Castle has an eventful past. Having been originally built at the start of the 14th century by the Counts von Heinsberg and assigned to the fiefdom of Wilhelm von Burgau, the picturesque moated castle has since had quite a makeover.
Ten pillars mark spots throughout Düren where people suffered at the hands of the Nazi dictatorship.
Holzstraße is home to several heritage-protected buildings. Although the air raid on 16 November 1944 destroyed huge areas of the town centre, some houses on Holzstraße managed to survive this attack virtually unscathed.
The Düren Originals was the name given to people whose presence had a major impact on everyday life in the town.
The Town Hall designed by architect Denis Boniver has stood as a symbol of the high point of reconstruction after the Second World War since it was completed in 1959. The elevated platform with outside steps and the glazed bay window by the old main entrance are typical features of buildings constructed in the 1950s.